Thursday, September 8, 2016

New Feature Google Drive Upload, better control of versions...

Google Apps update alerts

Link to Google Apps update alerts

Posted: 06 Sep 2016 07:30 AM PDT
A common use case for Google Drive users is to download a file from their Drive to modify 
it locally, and then to re-upload the new version. In the past, this would result in duplicate 
files (the original and the new one), and users would have trouble finding the latest version. 
That’s why we’re introducing a change in Drive to deduplicate files which were uploaded 
in this way.

Once launched, when users upload files that have the same filename as an existing file, 
they’ll be deduplicated, and the old file will be in revision history. This is so that if any 
mistakes are made, users can get back to the previous version. Similarly, uploaded 
folders will be merged with folders of the same name.

To prevent the files from being deduplicated, click on “Keep as separate file” once it’s been uploaded.



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for your feedback and making this blog a better place!